Press Release — Watch Live: 2016 Oslo Freedom Forum and Václav Havel International Prize

The final day of the 2016 Oslo Freedom Forum begins at 9:30 Central European Time (3:30am EST, 12:30am PST) and will be streamed live at oslofreedomforum.com, in central Oslo’s Spikersuppa Square, and at nearby Nordic entrepreneurship center MESH.

The final day of the 2016 Oslo Freedom Forum begins this morning at 9:30 Central European Time (3:30am EST, 12:30am PST) and will be streamed live at oslofreedomforum.com, in central Oslo’s Spikersuppa Square, and at nearby Nordic entrepreneurship center MESH. A full schedule of events is available here.

At 9:30am CET Swedish singer-songwriter José González opens the ceremony for the fifth annual Václav Havel International Prize for Creative Dissent. The Havel Prize was founded in 2012 with the support and encouragement of Dagmar Havlová, the widow of the late Czech poet, playwright, dissident, and statesman. Havel was chairman of HRF from 2009 until his death in December 2011. The Havel Prize honors his legacy and celebrates those who, with bravery and ingenuity, unmask the lie of dictatorship by living in truth. The 2016 laureates are Iranian cartoonist Atena Farghadani, Russian performance artist Petr Pavlensky, and Uzbek photojournalist Umida Akhmedova.

Following the Havel Prize ceremony, we’ll hear talks on LGBTQ discrimination in Egypt, the importance of grassroots legal advocacy, Congo’s war on women, and the movement to free North Korea with flash drives.

Comments